Tears of Joy

Today I was on the phone talking to one of my best friends. I love her so much. While I was talking, my little girl, Cassidy, came down the steps and laid a piece of paper down in front of me.

Let me give you a little back story on Cassidy. Cassidy started getting a fever last night and has barely eaten or spoken since. We got her up early this morning to take her to the doctor to get looked at. When Cassidy is quiet, you know something is wrong! 🙂 She is just such a little fire ball. Well, we found out today that she has a virus and an upper respiratory infection.  The doctor just said lots of rest would help her.

In Charlotte, where we live, it is snowing pretty hard outside. Cassidy has just laid on the sofa all day and not really moved, well except to come and deliver to me a very important piece of paper. Its amazing how all of her friends are outside playing and she is laying on the sofa thinking about this. See the picture below.

This picture made my whole day! No my whole month! No my whole year! This is what she was thinking about when she was laying on the sofa feeling so bad? I love her heart! She blesses me and I feel so honored to be her mother. I wish everyone got generosity like my little girl. She is one of the most generous people I have ever met! She is down right beautiful!

Maybe this is one of the reasons Jesus tells us we need to be more like children. I have had a steady flow of tears streaming since she gave me the note. Tears of joy!

~ by pennymaxwell on January 10, 2011.

3 Responses to “Tears of Joy”

  1. Penny, this is an amazing moment! Thank you for sharing it! It is a great reminder that our faith, and our actions on that faith, should be like that of a child’s.

    I love how our kids remind us of the truths of God. 🙂

    Thank you for sharing this piece of your life…it was a bright ray of sunshine on this cold, snowy day here in the Queen City. 🙂

  2. Ok – stop it already . . .this story is so totally AWESOME! As a mom it does not take very much to pull on the heart strings and this was a perfect story to read today. I am super fortunate to have the opportunity to spend time with Cassidy in O-Zone, so to imagine her being quite . . .yes, she has to be sick because that is not her. But her gesture of pure kindness and generosity is TOTALLY her! Pastor Penny the words of your mouth are echoing loudly in my head that we truly DO serve the NOW generation and sometimes our children set such tremendous examples. Our children are a direct reflection of their parents and their “tribe” who raises them. Prayers for healing to her!

  3. Well it is teachers like you who help to raise the “tribes”! Thank you for serving the children! You are shaping history! Love it! Serving the kids is where it is at! Thanks for all you do!

Leave a Reply

 
