World Famous Shrimp and Corn Chowder

You have to make this stuff. This is the number one recipe I am asked for each year. That is why I am re-posting this! I have been making it for years and it is a real hit. Yes, the recipes you see me blogging about are not low calorie but it is Christmastime! :)

1 bunch of scallions (chopped)

1 stick of butter

2 cans of corn, drained

2 cans of cream of potato soup

1 1b cooked shrimp (add this in last so it does not get tough)

8oz of cream cheese

1 pint of half and half

1/2 tsp Tony Cacheres seasoning

fresh parsley for garnish and freshness

Saute chopped scallions in butter until tender, add in the Tonys seasoning. Then add in the remaining ingredients and stir until the cream cheese melts and blends in. You will love this. We also sprinkle Tony Chacheres seasoning on the top too. It makes it taste even better and has a little bite to it. If you are not a shrimp person you can use chicken, ham, or any other fish. All are wonderful!!

If you decide to make this you have to give a shout out on the ole blog and if you have eaten it before you need to shout out and tell people why they need to try it!

~ by pennymaxwell on December 13, 2010.

9 Responses to “World Famous Shrimp and Corn Chowder”

  1. By chance . . . do you serve the shrimp and corn chowder with the crab casserole?

  2. This is awesome. I am eating it right now. I love the soup. The seasoning gives it a grt. kick.

  3. Hey Penny,
    I’m making your Shrimp and Corn Chowder on Saturday night! So excited to try it! Sounds yummy. How many people does one recipe serve?
    Thanks,
    Lisa W

  4. Lisa, it serves a good deal of people or your family 2 or 3 times! 🙂 I would say that it serves 7 or 8 adults very easy unless you are having over a bunch of football players! There is a reason I say that! It does not last long for them! Ha ha! Its merely a snack! He he!

    Great with some crusty bread but honestly it is amazing!

  5. And no I dont serve the chowder with the crab casserole. Both are very rich and heavy so you would prob do better to do them separately! They are both so delish!

  6. Oh YEAH! It IS that time of the year! How could I forget?! This is the ONLY time of year I allow myself to make and eat this recipe, because it take the next 11 months for my arteries to recover! 😉

    But seriously this recipe means more to me than just a really good meal. (And it is SO good!) Ironically, this dish always reminds me of the absolute worst season we’ve ever experienced as a family. But instead of remembering the bad stuff, I always remember how God rationed love, miracles, comfort, encouragement and blessings throughout–just in time, every time. And one of those blessings was you bringing this soup to our house, making us sit down and rest, serving it to us, and putting extra in our freezer for later. Hence, each year I eat this meal in remembrance of God’s care and provision. The Isrealites had their Passover lamb; I’ve got my Christmas chowder! 🙂

    Thank you again for that Christmastime memory!

  7. Okay, Penny, this soup was a huge success last night!! I didn’t make enough of it since one of my guests ate 5 bowls full! I will definitely be adding this to my personal favorites file. Great for making when we have guests because it was so easy! Thanks so much for sharing!
    Lisa

  8. 5 bowls! Oh my gosh! Did you have football players over! Wow! That soup is pretty rich to eat that much! WOW! But yes, everyone loves it and it is so incredibly easy! People think you slaved away! We can let them think that! 🙂

  9. I love it, I love it! Thanks for sharing this recipe! It is great when it’s cold outside.

Leave a Reply

 
