He Did One Thing Right…..

Last night was pretty tough on my husband. His father passed away. Troy was sad because his father had wasted his life abusing alcohol and drugs. That was only the beginning but that is not the part of the story I want to tell you about.

Last night when we got the news we were in Dallas, Texas. We were getting ready to go eat with about 20 pastors when the call came in. It was as if the Lord knew exactly the impact it would have on Troy and He had the right people there to love on him. He literally hung up the call with the hospice nurse and turned around and there was Jentzen Franklin to pray over him and love on him. I was already at the table with the rest of the gang and Troy called me to let me know he was not coming in, that I needed to meet him out front. He told me the news of his father’s passing. Immediately Leon Fontaine and Terry Crist (all three guys I mentioned are pastors) jumped up and came outside. They too hugged Troy and loved on him. I never saw Troy cry like that before that moment. He was so torn in his emotions as you could imagine. Eternity is a long time to ponder.

Terry and Leon took Troy for a walk and when they came back Troy told me some of the things that were prayed over him and spoken to him. One such thing was the fact that Troy had said his dad had wasted his whole life. The pain he felt knowing that was overwhelming. He was 63 and died and alcoholic, alone in a hospice bed. That was hard to think about. Leon looked at Troy and said, “Troy, he had you so he at least did one thing right! You are changing people’s lives and THAT is what you can think about.” I think that put so much in perspective for Troy. It helped me as well.

There are so may lessons in here but one that stood out for me was having the right people at the right time in your life. Those three guys (in my opinion) are some of the most amazing pastors in the world. I mean Leon and Terry were old friends and Jentzen a new one, but they were all there at a crucial moment for Troy. The pastor (Troy) got pastored by three amazing men and that was pretty cool to me. I could not think of three cooler guys to be there to hug him and love him through it. They held him up during a painful moment and he will never forget that. I will not either.

It does not stop there. The whole day the other 17 pastors we were supposed to be eating with, called him and encouraged him. They made sure that he felt the love and support. Let me tell you, he does. It is almost shocking to think people love and care that much.

Serving God along side of pastors like these men is an honor. I believe in pastors. I believe in the call. I believe God knew just what Troy needed at just the right moment, it was a pastor. He was surrounded by pastors who have a heart for God’s people. Can I just say that pastors rock?! I sure hope you have a pastor or pastors in your life! It made all the difference in the world to us. You will need them sometime soon. We did!

***By the way, when we got home a few minutes ago, some pretty amazing people were here for us to pick up where they left off. FHC staff, members and friends, we cannot thank you enough. I don’t know how people survive painful situations without a church family in their lives to help them push through. Love you all!

~ by pennymaxwell on February 20, 2010.

6 Responses to “He Did One Thing Right…..”

  1. Thank you for sharing that. Your family remains in my thoughts and prayers

  2. Pastor Penny, what an amazing blog post. I am in tears reading this as I know that there are no coincidences when we follow God. God just “simply” shows up. Thank you for taking time to share your story and how you and Pastor Troy were encouraged by your fellow pastors/family. I want to tell you that my life began a great transformation on July 4th weekend 3 years ago (my first visit to FHC) and I am not where I want to be, but I am so glad that I am a work in progress and I am not where I used to be.

    Pastor Penny, because the two of you have allowed God to fully use you to bring forth HIS word to HIS people, I am changed. I would love to give Pastor Troy’s father a hug and tell him, “thank you sir for having such an amazing son, he is changing lives, many at a time.

  3. I appreciate you being willing to share that. You guys do mean more to Rick and me than I think you realize. You are in our prayers-please let us know if there is anything we can do for you.

  4. As soon as I got the message I began to pray. Immediately I knew that God’s timing is always perfect & that Pastor was just where he was suppose to be- in the ” Fathers” hands through other pastors. Pastor Troy is an awesome example of dads, husbands, & pastors. So glad for Gods timing. Thanks for sharing. Love you both so much.

  5. Penny,
    My heart goes out to Troy and yourself at the passing of his dad. ANd you know GOD always has a plan in place to position people where they need to be just when we need them. I agree the best thing his dad can add to his list of accomplishments is creating Troy. Please hug him for me and know my prayers are with the family. Grace, peace and love from Richmond, VA,

  6. I must admit sadness for PT’s loss came second when I heard the news. First, I was thankful. It was only a few weeks ago he stood spiritually naked before us as a congregation and confessed, “God has been dealing with me about my wrong attitude toward my father.” And so when I heard the news of his dad’s passing all I could think about was how compassionate is our heavenly Father, that He loves PT so much He prepared his heart beforehand. I can only imagine how much harder the news would have hit him if he hadn’t heeded God’s rebuke. To anyone who listened from that Sunday to this one, this should have been all the evidence needed to believe God IS, and to realize how much we need Him to live. The big, show-y miracles are great, but that’s not what we live off of. No, it’s these kind of moments that get you from Monday to Wednesday without losing your mind and falling completely apart. The ones that show us how small we are, and how we can’t know it all, and how, even if we serve God all our days but never witness a big, show-y display of God’s power, it is by His power we can serve all our days. THESE are the greatest testimonies of God’s existence and of His love.

    I am so thankful I have pastors who can hear from God AND will obey, and who are humble enough to live naked before us so even their personal trials can minister to us. And I am thankful for Pastor Troy’s dad for all the ways he is responsible for giving us your whole family. And I hope it will encourage you all that I strongly suspect PT isn’t the only good thing his dad contributed to this world. Inside of 63 years other good seeds must have been sown somewhere, to include those possibly planted by the life-changing ministry of “How NOT to …”

    Love you guys! You’ll never be the same, but you’ll be just fine.

Leave a Reply

 
