Exposed!

Guest Blogger: Makeda Pennycooke, Freedom House Church

I injured my hand last week. I will spare you the details of how I injured my hand but suffice it to say that I ended up with some serious wounds on the back of my right hand.  I use the term wounds because these were more than just cuts or scrapes, these were wounds were the skin was removed and just pink, raw dermis is visible in multiple areas on my hand. When I got hurt, my first instinct was to cover up the wounds. I found some big, waterproof band-aids and figured they would be perfect. I applied them to my wounds and felt good that I had taken such good care of myself.  The next day I went to see my doctor and when we took off the band-aids, the skin around my wounds did not look good. My doctor suggested that I not cover up the wounds anymore if I can avoid it. They will actually heal better if they stay exposed to the open air and the skin around the wounds won’t end up getting macerated (that’s a really big word that is defined as causing to become weak or thin).  It’s been hard keeping the wounds open to the air because they are definitely more prone to getting accidentally hit or touched which only makes it hurt more (we won’t even talk about the painstaking effort needed to put on a shirt or a jacket without touching them). But my doctor was right, in the few days since I’ve had them open to the air, the wounds themselves are looking MUCH better and the skin around them is also healing nicely.

My little injury got me thinking about the emotional wounds in our lives that we keep covered up. You know the ones that are so painful that we hide them with some emotional band-aid and then pat ourselves on the back for “taking such good care of ourselves”. You know the hurt that someone caused you by something they said; the pain a leader caused you by what they did or didn’t do to you; the wounds from our childhood that are too painful to even put to words but whose pain is eating away at the core of who we are.  We all have them and for all of us our first instinct is always to cover them up; to keep them away from other people so we won’t hurt again. I know that’s my first instinct. Shoot who am I kidding it’s my second and third instinct too! But when we do that we are actually doing more harm than good. We think we are taking care of ourselves but we are in reality making ourselves weak and thin. We need to take the emotional band-aids off and expose those wounds so they can be healed. I’m not suggesting that we put our wounds out there to just anybody but I am suggesting that we take the coverings off and expose them in some way. Being vulnerable like that is risky and can cause the pain to rise up again but I discovered an interesting thing the few times I have hit my hand or rubbed it against something by accident, when I blow on it just a little the pain seems to subside.  I wonder what would happen if we would allow the Holy Spirit to blow on some of our wounded areas.

We need to allow the Holy Spirit to breathe on those wounds and bring healing to those areas. Yes it’s uncomfortable and yes there will be times when it will hurt but by keeping it open we will experience true healing. We won’t be weak and thin, instead we will be strong and able to accomplish everything He desires for us to accomplish. So who’s with me? Who’s willing to take the emotional band-aids off? Who is willing to expose those hidden wounds to the gentle touch of our loving Father and His Holy Spirit?

~ by pennymaxwell on February 9, 2010.

6 Responses to “Exposed!”

  1. Great analogy, Makeda. I like how you describe the Holy Spirit blowing on our wounds – even though it’s painful it sounds soothing in a way. I’m with you! Exposing wounds to the Light keeps them from festering in the darkness of our enemy’s grasp.

  2. wow, what a gorgeous pic of Makeda! Miss seeing that face. 🙂

  3. Hey Makeda,
    God really has a way of confirming things through ways we would never imagine. This morning as I was battling my way through the snowstorm in Richmond to get to work, the HG basicially told me the same things you just expressed in writing. Thanks girl for sharing and keep on keepin on!

  4. Thank you ladies for the kind words. Jacqueline I can’t wait to see you guys again soon. And WOW Laurie it has been way too long. I trust you are doing well! Thanks again ladies.

    • Hi Makeda, I know this is late, but I’m just reading your blog. It was on time for me even a month later. Thanks for allowing God to use you.

  5. Love this, Makeda!

Leave a Reply

 
