I Pity the Fool!

pity-the-fool1

I am excited today because our counselor comes in. We have counselors that work with us and our staff. This is so important to us. Godly counsel is infused in our culture and for us it is not optional. We all have a chance today to be better. To be sharpened and to see areas of our life where we can better serve the Lord. I welcome godly counsel! I hope that after reading this today godly counsel is not optional for you either. That is if you want to live your life to the fullest giving God your best!

So here is a pattern I see. I see people who won’t listen to godly counsel. I see them all the time. I see people with great potential who just won’t receive correction. This is so disturbing to me because I believe this alone causes people to be picked off, derailed. Sometimes you don’t know it all and sometimes someone just might be able to speak into your life! I cannot tell you how many times I have seen this happen. It is so sad because this does not have to be the case. People who are unwilling to grow are foolish and are actually choosing destruction for their lives. We grow through correction and godly counsel. I pray that you are not in that category of people who won’t hear, unfortunately many people don’t choose that path because it requires something from them. It requires intentionality and hard work! It also requires you to let go of fears that have been binding you for years. But it is worth it. Living a healthy life is worth it.

Honestly, I want to ask people if they have ever even read the bible who cannot be corrected. I mean if you have, you will see over and over the call for godly counsel. It is not optional that we be able to receive correction. It is vital to our spiritual life. As a matter of fact the bible says that if you aren’t being corrected, your aren’t growing! It also says you are not loved either if you are not being corrected! So why do people CHOOSE to not receive correction? The bible says it is the path of the fool that won’t. I don’t want to be a fool. A a matter of fact, I “pity the fool” who won’t be corrected!

Here are a few scriptures for you. There are more, hope you get the point.

Where there is no counsel the people fall, but in the multitude of counselors there is safety. Prov 11:14

Whoever loves instruction loves knowledge, But he who hates correction is stupid. Prov 12:1

A wise man will hear and increase learning, And a man of understanding will attain wise counsel. Prov 1:5-6

They would have none of my counsel, And despised my rebuke. Therefore they shall eat the fruit of their own way. Prov 1:31

Because you disdained all my counsel, And would have none of my rebuke, …. your terror comes like a storm and your destruction like a whirlwind..Prov 1:25, 27

Do not be wise in your own eyes, Fear the Lord and depart from evil. Prov 3:7

The ways of a fool is right in his own eyes. But he who heeds counsel is wise. Prov 12:15

He who keeps instructions is in the way of life, But he who refuses instruction goes astray. Prov 10:17

My son do not despise the chastening of the Lord, nor be discouraged when you are rebuked by him; For whom the Lord loves he chastens. Heb12:5-6

Ask yourself these questions.

Do I have a history of rejecting authority?

Would those who are in a position of authority over you say you are easily corrected?

Do I have someone in my life asking me the hard questions?

Do I have a godly counselor in my life?

Will I hear when I am corrected? Are my responses healthy?

Can my spouse correct me? My boss? My pastor? My friends?

Do I hide when I am going through conflict?

Do I run when I am going through conflict?

Do I feel like a failure when I am confronted?

Will I listen and apply godly correction/counsel?

These are all questions to ask yourself so you can check your barometer for receiving correction. If you view correction as any thing other than a great tool from God to help you grow, maybe you need to understand God’s perspective on it. Don’t take the path of the fool! Your life is depending on it!

~ by pennymaxwell on September 2, 2009.

2 Responses to “I Pity the Fool!”

  1. Great stuff Penny. I think many people are afraid of the change that needs to come with correction. I recently dealt with someone who made the comment “that’s just how I am, and if someone doesn’t like it, then too bad”. I was sad to hear this because God has so much more for this person, but they are literally turning Him away. I think when you really realize the benefits that come with correction and Godly counsel then you will search for it. Thanks for reminding me of this…

  2. This is great, Pastor Penny!!! It certainly causes me to honestly examine my life. I’d like to think that I handle correction pretty well but these scriptures will definitely help to keep me that in check.

Leave a Reply

 
