What Is The Cost Of Your Calling?

All of us have a calling in life, something that God has commissioned for us to do, something that we were created and fashioned for. Along with that calling, there is often a lot of change required on our part for God to get us where we need to be. The space between hope and change is pain.

dollar-signs

Now, I know going through pain is not a popular message for most Christians. We want to think we get to escape it all, that is so not true. Listen to Paul’s words paraphrased in Acts 20:22-24, he is saying that he is going to Jerusalem and all that he knows that awaits him by the prompting of the Holy Spirit is “chains and tribulations”. Then he says this statement, “but none of these things move me, I am going to finish this race.” Then he says something that totally blows me away. Not only does he say he is going to finish the race even if it is painful, he says he is going to finish it with JOY! How do you have joy and pain at the same time? Those of you who have ever given birth to a baby know what that feels like. Think of that concept for a moment and it should make pure sense to you.

Here is what I know. I know you have a purpose. I know walking that out may not always be easy. I  know this too, you can walk it out with joy even though there is pain involved. Joy supersedes pain. Pain is inevitable. Pain is simply the space between hope and change. You see the difference between where you are and where God wants you to be is the pain you are willing to endure.

Too many people quit marriages because of pain. Too many people exit their destiny because of pain. Too many people never heal from their past because of pain. Too many people take the easy road because of pain. Too many people never go deep in relationships because of pain. Too many people choose average because of pain. Let me ask you a question, “Is the will of God for your life optional?” If not, then get used to having to face pain. But also know that joy supersedes pain. It would be like walking around with a baby in the birth canal but afraid to deliver it, who would do that? Who would just let it die instead of pushing through? Yes there is pain in giving birth to something and/or delivering something, but don’t quit half way through with a baby hanging out of you! Do you know how dumb that sounds? Finish the process!

Let me sum this all up for you, don’t lack the courage to live up to your potential. What is the cost of your calling? Whatever it is, it is totally worth it! Go for it!

~ by pennymaxwell on July 9, 2009.

3 Responses to “What Is The Cost Of Your Calling?”

  1. This is the very conclusion I’ve been coming to. I’ve been in a lot of pain for a long time, and it was getting the best of me. But I’m tired of letting the pain hold me back, and I’m ready to let it propel me forward for Christ’s sake.

  2. Tracie, I get you. I went to bed last night in pain. I woke up this morning in pain. I then heard a friend passed away and left behind 4 young children. But somehow despite it all I feel God’s presence overshadow me and let me know He has me in His hands. The pain has not left completely but I joy in the fact that I know whose I am. I am HIS!

  3. This was super timely for me, thank you!

Leave a Reply

 
