Don’t Be A Fool!!

images4

This school year my son started playing football for his middle school. He had never played before and so a great friend of ours, who played in the NFL for 10 years, told him he would give him some pointers. So our friend comes over to hang with Troy and mentions to Colby that he would be happy to help him. My son replies, “That’s ok”. What did my son just say? I think I must have heard wrong! Did my son just tell a man who has played in the Super Bowl that he did not need any football instruction? I think not.

This past weekend my daughters were in the kitchen with a friend who is a renowned chef. I thought it was so cute watching them chop things up and “stir the butter” in the kitchen with my friend. After only about five minutes the girls began to get impatient and were not listening to “their” chef. He politely told them that a good sous chef always listens to instruction.

I understand that my son might have been a little nervous and my girls were a bit excited. I mean they are kids and I get that but I did not want the lesson to pass by without acknowledging it. What I saw in these two scenarios is something I have seen over and over again with people. I have seen people who do not know how to receive instruction (for whatever reason) and thus they never grow. They never fulfill their potential. We all should be perpetual learners.

If you ask most people they will tell you that they want to grow. They want to grow as a Christian, grow as a mother, grow as a wife, grow in their career, and the list goes on. But in order to grow we have to be willing to be taught. It is such an easy word but not everyone is willing to receive instruction. Those who want to grow, do.

Why? Why don’t people want to receive instruction? Well because it includes showing you what you are needing to change. Many people would rather stay average than endure the sculpting of this sort. It makes you face your idiosyncrasies. It makes you face your stubbornness. It makes you face your insecurities. It makes you face the fact that you may not be where you thought you were. Whatever the case, if our heart’s desire is to do everything we can to keep improving ourselves, we had better get used to the sculpting knife. It is painful at times but so worth it. The bible actually talks a lot about people who cannot receive instruction. It calls them fools. I do not want to be a fool. Do you? It also says not to hang around fools too! Ouch! Am I hanging around fools?

Have you ever had a hard time receiving instruction? If so, why?

~ by pennymaxwell on February 12, 2009.

2 Responses to “Don’t Be A Fool!!”

  1. Nope. Never. I’m as humble as the day is long.

  2. Continuing to be open to correction and growing keeps us young at heart and alive.

Leave a Reply

 
