The House Was Open!

dsc_0395dsc_0409

We had an Open House for our church offices on Friday night last week. I don’t know how many people actually came through but what I do know is it started early and ended late. It was so much fun.

dsc_0413dsc_0571

We posted pictures of what the “house” looked like before and then people could see what the house looked like currently. I have some vivid memories of the “before”. I remember pulling out the old stove and seeing a dead rat family behind the oven. It grossed me out and intrigued me all at the same time. I remember spiders that were so big they belonged in a zoo somewhere. One time I remember my girls SCREAMING at the top of their lungs because of a spider’s web that was covering the front door. The web was not as scary as the inhabitant of the web in my opinion. It was the size of a 50 cent piece. It was also very difficult to walk anywhere due to fire ant nests. They were all over the place. The exterminator probably had fun with that. Pastor Andre did not, however. He got attacked one time and was hurting for quite a while by those little ants.  He still gets teased!

dsc_0478dsc_0369

The “old” house also had many leaks and it caused the dry wall to be rotten. I remember coming in one day to check on the progress and saw a huge hole where dry wall used to be. It had to be removed as well as many other walls that needed to come down. What a lovely shade of green/black was hiding behind those walls. The carpet that we ripped out also let us know of the “flood” that must have occurred because the flooring was rotten as well. Funny thing is I started seeing people wear masks after that for quite some time. Imagine that.

dsc_0410dsc_0419

I would guess that Pastor Micheal’s favorite part (which the pictures do not do justice) was the over-growth on the house. The weeds were actually taller than my kids. Troy and I laughed at that one day. It was very funny! But, alas, Pastor M got it all cleaned up and removed the mess that covered the place. It was hard to keep that stuff away. It kept wanting to come back.

dsc_0437dsc_0382

We also had to take the deck down and build another one. It was a safety issue and was condemned.The first time I walked on it I realized that I was moving but I was standing still. Not good.

dsc_0368dsc_0391

Anyhow, I say all of that to say this. I am so proud of all of you. So many of you gave of  your finances, your time, shared your talents and sent up your prayers. We all had a hand in seeing this come to pass. The new offices are simply beautiful and it is all because of people like you who gave. Thank you for all that you do.

dsc_0389dsc_0394

If you did not have time to stop by, make sure that you do. You need to see what happens when people of like mind come together and have a vision to reach this city. We can fit so many youth and college students in the new meeting space. We can have vision meetings and times of worship and prayer without stepping on someones toes because we are too cramped. And we have more space for more staff and vlounteers so we can increase our task force to reach more people in this city with the love of Jesus. How cool is that?

dsc_0439dsc_0443

~ by pennymaxwell on January 31, 2009.

One Response to “The House Was Open!”

  1. Great pics! Wonderful! …and I thought the rat story was especially funny. Brings back memories of my own. LOL ch:

Leave a Reply

 
