Creamy Chicken and Rice Soup

1 pouch of brown rice (I use the organic kind at Trader Joes)

1 rotisserie chicken pulled in small pieces (no skin or fat)

1 box of organic chicken stock

1 bunch of scallions

fresh parsley

2 cans of cream of chicken soup

2 c milk/cream (one cup of each)

1 TBSP of Tony Chacheres seasoning

1/2 stick of butter

Melt butter is a large sauce pan. Chop scallions and cook them in butter until they are soft. Then add in the cooked rice until coated. Then add in the box of chicken stock, the cream of chicken soup, milk, cream, and seasoning. When that is hot and well blended add in chicken pieces being careful not to dry it out by boiling it too much. Garnish with fresh parsley. Enjoy on those frosty, cold nights!

Serve with crusty bread or grilled cheese!

~ by pennymaxwell on October 28, 2008.

3 Responses to “Creamy Chicken and Rice Soup”

  1. I made this tonight for dinner. I love it! I also put a little celery in there with the scallions (especially the leaves and heart) and then I sprinkled chives along with the parsley on top too. My kids helped me make this. Honestly, it is quick and delicious.

    Shout out if you try this or if you want to try this!

    Colby licked the bowl!

  2. This sounded so good I ran over to the store and got the ingredients for dinner tonight. It was delicious. I used the celery too and even Ellis ate it which was a miracle. April B. made your chowder over the weekend with chicken instead of shrimp and it was delish too. Keep them coming!

  3. Today I ate this for lunch and dinner. I just love it and I have been cold for like three days straight. It is helping to warm me up! especially since it is supposed to be freezing tonight! Burrrrrr!

Leave a Reply

 
