What Would You Say??

Tonight I had a conversation with a really neat couple. They are in their late 20’s and have a little boy with another on the way. I really enjoyed my time with them. Our conversation was so cool because this couple has only been saved for a short time and they are not married. They really want to do things God’s way now but they didn’t really know what that was. They had questions for me and have really been wanting to learn how to grow deeper in their relationship with the Lord. How wonderful it is to get to help them start on this path to living successful Christian lives.

What they didn’t get from me was judgment or criticism. They got love from me. When I finished the conversation I told them I was proud of them. I was proud of them for growing and learning. I was proud of them for really making an effort and trying to give it their best shot. I am proud of them for raising their hand and making the decision to follow Jesus and I am so very proud of them for following through on that commitment.

We talked tonight about them getting married and what a covenant is.  I am sure that is a new word for them but they are so ready to learn and grow. I love people like this; people who just want Jesus and are willing to admit that haven’t got it all together. They just want a Saviour!

What about you? What would you have said? What would you have not said? What do you think most “Christians” would say? What do you think that Jesus is saying right now?

~ by pennymaxwell on October 15, 2008.

5 Responses to “What Would You Say??”

  1. I honestly think most Christians would have done exactly as you did. A lot of people are afraid that a Christian will judge them and condemn them. What they understand is as a Christian I know it’s not my place to judge them. My job is to pray for them and lead them.

    I really enjoy reading your words. As a thank you for being an inspiration there is a gift waiting for you at http://www.myweeklybeef.com/2008/10/somebody-loves-me.html

  2. I believe that Jesus is proud of you because you did as he does. Thank God that He gives us love and not criticism. He guides us just as you did with them. The key is just as you said, they were hungry for information and ready to make change. People need truth, but always given with love. This is REAL. {Thanks Pastor Troy for this teaching series} How exciting to be a part of their new walk. I have been presented with similiar situations and true love and encouragement moves people closes to Jesus. Unfortunately I think there is still to many “Christians” out there that still judge. That is what is great about FHC–the freedom “to be” and still be loved as we learn and grow.

  3. This sounds like a dumb question, but are you guys from Plum Borough, Pennsylvania? I went to high school with a Troy Maxwell and he married a blonde girl named Penny. : )

  4. Nope, we are from Richmond, Va. I think I was blond when we got married but it has been every color since then. it will remain blond for a while!

  5. Jesus takes us as we are, where we are, and He always takes us back, even if we turn from Him…It’s exciting to see younger people seek and want to know the truth. To some He gives a shot of “Miracle Grow! It’s not just for tomatoes!”

Leave a Reply

 
