My New Friend!

Today I got to hang out with a new friend of mine. Her name is Olivia. She is beautiful. She is smart. She is amazing. Olivia is famous too. A restaurant here in town even named their milkshakes after her! Yep, she is that special.

Olivia has been in a wheel chair since she was very small. She is 15 now. She has a computer that she uses to help her talk and she is so funny. She told me today that she wanted to come to my house. I thought that was so cool. I cannot wait to cook her favorite things for her.

Olivia has not met my husband yet but he talked to her on the phone today. She told him via the computer that her favorite color is black (to which he told her that was not really a color, she laughed) and that she was in 10th grade. Since she had not met him I showed her his picture on the church website. She thought he was really cute. She has really good taste! She then told me that she wanted to meet him. I know he will be just as smitten with her as I am.

Olivia has dreams of walking and getting married some day. Her spirit is amazing because Olivia knows that God is her healer. She trusts Him and knows that she is safely in His hands. It is so cool to watch her faith in Jesus stay strong. Olivia is incredibly blessed to have wonderful parents too who encourage her and pray for her. They have been a large part of the reason Olivia is as amazing as she is. What a great support system.

Olivia’s smile melts me, her spirit lifts me. She is just such an inspiration and a joy to be around. My daughters have done nothing but talk about her since we left her house today. I guess all of us are smitten with that beautiful girl!

Do you have an Olivia? Someone who makes your day brighter and full of joy?

I am posting these song lyrics in honor of my new friend Olivia.

You’re my Healer

You hold my every moment
You calm my raging seas
You walk with me through fire
And heal all my disease

I trust in You
I trust in You

I believe You’re my Healer
I believe You are all I need
I believe You’re my Portion
I believe You’re more than enough for me
Jesus You’re all I need

My Healer, You’re my Healer

Nothing is impossible for You
Nothing is impossible for You
Nothing is impossible for You
You hold my world in Your hands

~ by pennymaxwell on October 12, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
