Got Dots?

We have been in this series called R.E.A.L and it has been great! We have been talking about how to be relevant, engaging, authentic, and life-giving!

Well this week my hubby had surgery on his mouth and was not able to speak as planned this weekend. It took a little longer for him to heal than expected. So I filled in for him. Now when he asked me Friday to speak, I wondered what I was going to talk about since he had already covered the R.E.A. and was going to be covering the L when he returned. What does that leave me to talk about? So I thought, “I know! Those little dots that are in between the acronym R.E.A.L. Those dots can represent the things in our lives that separate us from being R.E.A.L. just like they are separating the R.E.A.L. acronym.” We all have “dots” in our lives that separate us from living real lives!

I think that sometimes we look at things we perceive to be big ticket items like, cheating, adultery, taking drugs, etc. Those can certainly be “dots” but what about those areas of our lives that are much more hidden and harder to spot? Some of those “dots” can be anger, unforgiveness, pride, independence, and criticalness just to name a few.

So I think I might make a t-shirt that says, “got dots?”

Join me in making this Psalm your prayer and see if God does not reveal your “dots” to you. “Search me O God and know my heart. Try me and know my thoughts. See if there be any wicked way in me and lead me in the way everlasting.”

If you want to listen to this message feel free to go to the front page of our website. It will be up for about a week. After that, you will need to podcast it.

~ by pennymaxwell on October 6, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
