Squash Casserole

It has been a while since I have posted a recipe so here you go! I learned this one from MiMi, Troy’s grandmother. You will enjoy this even if you are not a huge squash fan, like me!

6 medium yellow squash, peeled

1/2 of a small Vidalia Onion

1 1/2 C shredded, cheddar cheese

1 can of evaporated milk

1 egg

butter, melted

Ritz crackers (don’t go cheap on this, you will notice if you buy generic)

Preheat oven to 375

Peel squash and cut in cubes. Boil until very tender, drain. With a masher or the back of your fork mash the squash and make sure all squash is free of liquid, you can press it with paper towels to ensure this. Next, mix the next four ingredients together in a casserole dish, add squash after you have blended those ingredients and then blend in squash. Pour in about 1/4 C melted butter and mix that in too. Bake this for about 30 minutes or until bubbly and golden.

Crush up Ritz crackers (enough to cover the top, maybe like 10) and mix with another 1/4 C melted butter, pour over baked casserole. Return to oven long enough to get the topping golden brown.

Yummo!!!!! Let me know if you try this!

~ by pennymaxwell on October 4, 2008.

7 Responses to “Squash Casserole”

  1. MMMMMMM! Makes me want to go buy squash! Sounds delicious!

  2. Oh my, this sounds delicious! This just might by my Thanksgiving or Christmas dinner contribution with the family. Thanks Penny and Mimi!

  3. Yep girls, it is good for T-giving or just to make as some comfort food! You will enjoy it because I don’t even really care for squash but MiMi’s squash casserole is so good! She is the one who made me try squash and love it this way. I really care for the fried with onions kind. 🙂 I guess everything does taste better with cheese!

  4. How in the world can you make all these rich casseroles and still be shrinking? So unfair! Thank you for helping me discover my “dot”…jealousy! been missing our life in the states and realizing once again how blessed we were being at FHC every sunday, well, we still are blessed but not with yall there at FHC. Really loving this experience in Mexico, we have already learned so much and feel more prepared each week. A little sore from the “stretch” though! 🙂 But what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger, right?

  5. i am fixing it tonight! I dont like squash but we tried a homemade casserole down atlantic beach, nc this summer and I loved it!!!! so hopefully i will like this too ..GReg wille at pretty much anything 🙂 He’ll be gratefulf or the recipe! Although I haven’t served him a burnt offering anytime recently! haha

  6. This is a MUST recipe!!!! It was soooooo good! Thanks to Troy’s Grandmother!!!! And to you too!

  7. Crystal, I made it tonight too! only thing is I did not have any Ritz crackers so I used Cheez-Its instead! Improvise, I did! It was still yummy! I really love this recipe. Even one of my kids who was a squash hater ate it too!

Leave a Reply

 
