What Is A Pastor’s Wife Supposed To Look Like?

This is just so funny to me. I happen to be on an elevator with Colleen Rouse, her and her husband pastor Victory World Church in Atlanta Georgia. We were at a conference. A gentleman on the elevator asked us what brought us to that hotel and we stated that we were at a pastor’s conference with our husbands. He then said, “the two of you don’t look like pastor’s wives”, to which we chuckled and thought “well what is a pastor’s wife supposed to look like?”

I was at the mall with two friends of mine who are just the sweetest people. The three of us were looking for those steal-of-a-deal bargains. A lady approaches us and asks us if we are hair dressers. We tell her no that we are all actually pastor’s wives. She responds with, “man you guys don’t look like pastor’s wives”. We chuckled. The woman actually got the card of one of my friends who pastors with her husband in that city and they lady wanted to come to church just because we didn’t “look like pastor’s wives”.

I have to tell you this sort of thing happens all of the time. I could tell you hundreds of times this has happened to me. Why do people have this preconceived notion that people who are in ministry are stale or boring? I don’t get that. So to be a pastors wife, do you have to wear polyester and pantyhose?

If our goal as pastors or people in ministry is to draw generations of lost people to the Lord, how are we going to do that if we ourselves cause people to look at God in a way that is old and stale? We represent Him, right? Titus 2:10 is Paul giving illustrations of how believers should handle others. He explained, “So that in every way they will make the teaching about God our Savior attractive”. Again in Philippians 1:10-11 (MSG) Paul writes, “Live a lovers life, circumspect and exemplary, a life Jesus will be proud of: bountiful in fruits from the soul, making Jesus Christ attractive to all, getting everyone involved in the glory and praise of God”. Paul is telling believers here that what they do and how they live causes people to see Jesus as less or more attractive.

So tell me, why are God’s people expected to be dull and boring? Aren’t we supposed to be full of life and vitality? Why have we as Christians given the impression to unchurched people that we are out-dated, out of touch, and stuck in our ruts? How is that a good testimony of a God who is alive and exciting? I don’t think it is. The God I serve is hip, cool, relevant, ALIVE, exciting, and the most amazing God in the universe!!!!!! That is what I want people to know who are far from Him. Come taste and see that the Lord is GOOD!!!!!!!

P.S. Here are some of my girlfriends and their husbands! YES they are pastors and proud of it!

~ by pennymaxwell on August 29, 2008.

8 Responses to “What Is A Pastor’s Wife Supposed To Look Like?”

  1. Why I praise your honor to our Lord and Savior can you please tell me where in Scripture it says women are suppose to be pastors? In fact it says just the opposite.

  2. I think you look “smokin'”- Go girl!

  3. Thanks Hun!

    Jim thanks for your comment too. I am just chillin’ at home right now with the family but I will be glad to answer you when I am not laying down on my sofa! Promise! It is one of my favorite subjects to talk about and it wont be short so I will post about it when my answers wont be half-hearted. The sofa is calling, the remote too!

  4. LOL! You rock!

  5. Love your post!! I too am a pastor’s wife and I co-pastor the church with my husband. I’ve had the local middle school English class interview me a few times when they are doing the ‘breaking the stereotype’ section. I don’t fit the ‘mold’ but I think that is a great thing. Serving God is never dull or boring.

    “The God I serve is hip, cool, relevant, ALIVE, exciting, and the most amazing God in the universe!!!!!! That is what I want people to know who are far from Him. Come taste and see that the Lord is GOOD!!!!!!!” You nailed it !!!

  6. Oh no Jim, I forgot to answer you! I was planning on posting some messages notes that I had taught before but I got a new computer so it will come as soon as I get all of the notes off the old computer. It was too extensive to just throw you out a few scriptures. I wanted to be able to give you tons of then. Cool Jim?

  7. Pastor Penny, I’ve had some people ask me this week about women in leadership … I gave them scriptures and quotes from John Bevere’s book … did you ever post anything in your blogs about it? If so, can you direct me to them 🙂 Thanks!!!

  8. Well stated. My wife is a pastor’s wife and she is anything but a “normal pastor’s wife” but then again people tell me I am anything but a “normal pastor.” Thank you for your words I am passing this on to my wife.

Leave a Reply

 
