Picking The Right People

So if you ever wonder what thoughts go through my head on a daily basis, just read my blog. Here is what went through my head today as I continue to read other pastors thoughts and view their experiences. I love learning from others. Here is what I learned today.

Selecting the right people to serve around you is one of the most important things you’ll do in ministry. The right people can help you reach many more for Christ. The wrong people can hold you back like a thousand-pound anchor.

This week, let’s discuss how to pick the right people.

Today I’ll list ten of the biggest lessons I’ve learned on selecting great people:

  1. Character is more important than giftedness.
  2. God often uses those others overlook.
  3. My wife is almost always a better judge about people than I am.
  4. Past success is a good indicator of future success.
  5. There is often a reason someone is looking for a job.
  6. Teach-ability is non-negotiable.
  7. When I’m trying to talk myself into liking someone, it’s best to move on.
  8. People from within the organization typically have a huge advantage over those who are from without.
  9. One of the best ways to attract better leaders is to become a better leader.
  10. We’re all better off when we pray, listen, and obey.
~ by pennymaxwell on July 8, 2008.

3 Responses to “Picking The Right People”

  1. If you read the Book of acts then you did notice that the emphasis on the Holy Spirit, and distributing money, food to the local poor people was part of the reason the churches next were so popular and growing. While in contrast today many Chruches. pastors, members, adherents, are selfish cheapskates.

    Secondly all pastors, elders, ministers should be called specifically for their Ministry directly by God. Most of them today have not been called for the ministry, for they are hirelings.

    True pastors, elders, ministers would firstly daily read their Bible for one hour and pray daily for others.

  2. Humm, sounds like you have been hurt. I get it, we all have been hurt by someone who was in a position of authority BUT I want to be careful not to be legalistic or dogmatic. I don’t think that attitude helps people either.

    Thanks.

  3. A pastor in charge of marriage counseling used to ask the person to come to the chapel one hour before each session and read the Bible.. I asked him why he did it? and he replied that if God answers theor questions than I would not have to do it next..

    Most people still do not talk to God, read their Bible in fact..

    As God Prayerfully a question, then read your Bible, wait for the answer, it will come..

Leave a Reply

 
