I Cannot Figure It Out!

This is the second year in a row that we have had a friendly robin that visits our house each morning. Actually I am a bit puzzled by this bird. Each and every morning this bird bangs on my bay window in the kitchen with its beak and does not let up. Most days the bird goes on for hours on end. This morning is no exception. I just cannot figure out why this bird continues to do this each day and for that matter each season. At first I thought maybe the bird was a little confused but to come back again this year makes me think that the bird is doing this for some reason I just don’t know what it is.

 

Right now as I type this there is a persistent banging on my window. It is so funny to me. I wish I could show you this bird. Maybe I can figure out how to video him since I know each morning at precisely 8:30 am little birdy will show up.

 

So all of you nature gurus want to take a stab at why this bird is doing this and why he came back again this year? Oh yeah and why this bird is so timely too! I would love to know!

~ by pennymaxwell on April 14, 2008.

7 Responses to “I Cannot Figure It Out!”

  1. Maybe the Lord is using that little bird to get your attention! I would pray about the little bird tomorrow morning when it comes knocking and see what happens! I would also definately take some video of it and send it to America’s Funniest Animasls : )

  2. This year for the last month and half we have a robin come to our back porch and look into our living room through our glass door. He comes everyday and just hangs out. It is puzzling, he just keeps coming back. My husband was asking me If I was feeding him, but I am not. Actually the condo I live, bird feeders are not allowed…

  3. Hey, used to have one of those and I was always that birds at that time in the morning see their reflections best and think it is another bird to mate with. (this being the season for LOVE IN THE AIR….)Or it is defending it’s territory from the “other bird” or just seeing the reflection of the outdoor world. There is a bird that does this to my car in the morning if I park in a certain spot of my apartment complex because of how the sun hits the window in the morning. I end up with his droppings all down the side of my car. (now I don’t park there and feel bad for the people who do and I’ll walk past and see the birds pecking away at the windows) However, I’ve seen tons of birds die from doing this. Try putting a screen on the outside of your window or a plastic hawk or something to scare them away from that area. This should not only save their lives but give you a peace of no more pecking…I hope this helps.

  4. Robins are usually most active in the morning/day hours. And a Robin is generally considered a symbol of Spring. (There is a popular Emily Dickinson poem about the first Robin of the spring.)Perhaps the Lord is encouraging you in his own “little” way that spring is here both in nature and spiritually in your life (Job 29: 22-23). Be encouraged.

  5. Pastor Penny,
    This bird reminds me of God’s love for us. This little birdie wants so much to be apart of the morning action that the birdie will stay and bang on the bay window for hours on end. It reminds me of how God wants to spend intimate, quality time with us each day. God loves to meet us early in the morning and just say,” I Love You”. I am not a nature buff, but it’s amazing how we can see God in the birds, the sky, the sea, the plants. God is such an awesome wonder, but yet still wants to be apart of every aspect of our lives…WOW

  6. Maybe this is just a reminder that God gave us dominion over all of the earth and that the birds and animals are here for us. I would go to Harris Teeter and pick a Rotisserie chicken. Have a nice dinner and thank God for all that He has given us.

  7. Hope this helps: http://www.learner.org/jnorth/tm/robin/WindowBonk.html

Leave a Reply

 
