Making Memories!

One thing that is so important to me is that my children grow up with incredible memories from their childhood.  We try to do things as a family that really make an impact on them. For example, Friday nights are family night. We travel and have busy schedules during the week so we make sure that we have Friday nights reserved for our kids. We love to do things they love.

Last night we had a birthday party for my youngest daughter. She had 20 friends over to spend the night and we had a blast. Really all of the children were darn near perfect. There was not one incident at all! How awesome it was! We took them all to Nakatos and then had a Japanese  party with candy sushi. We had so much  fun making it with those candy fish, rice crispy treats and green fruit roll-ups as the seaweed! Oh ya we used chocolate sauce as the soy sauce too. The girls had a blast and so did Troy and I! I think Troy only got frazzled at dinner when 20 girls needed to go to the bathroom all at the same time. He said they learn that whole group bathroom thing early.

Bottom line is I love my children and I want them to always know how much they mean to us. Doing things that make them smile makes me smile. Even if I am a little sleep deprived I still totally enjoyed myself, maybe even as much as the girls did! We are making great memories!

What memories do you hold dear from your childhood?

~ by pennymaxwell on April 12, 2008.

5 Responses to “Making Memories!”

  1. I wish my mother put so much thought into bringing me up, I wouldn’t have been so sad today haha
    But your post is so sweet, I’m glad there are people who care so much, and I hope to become like you someday, making every moment with my children count.

    And btw, candy sushi sounds so yummy! in a weird way too haha 😀

  2. Hi Pastor Penny,
    I am the guy you met at 8:30am service today with the brown suit from the Richmond area. Thank you for sharing. Although I am single, I am blessed to hear about the wonderful time you and your children had. Your wonderful relationship with your children has inspired me in many ways. Although I am currently single( i do have a wonderful, beautiful grilfriend :), I plan to have a family someday. What I am about to say sounds crazy to some, but I have always been an out-of-the-box- faith filled person. I have actually been praying about my kids for years. I have been praying that they will grow up in the presence of God and be great men and women of God and that I can be a great dad to them who represents the fullness of Christ’s love right before their very eyes. Then one day thay can teach their kids the same thing. It’s about leaving a legacy. I love planning and praying ahead! Thank you so much for sharing this touching and beautiful story!

  3. Hi Pastor Penny,
    I am the guy whom you met at the fhc service this past sunday at the 8:30am service with the brown suit on… and from the Richmond, VA area. Thank you so much for your beautiful story! When you told your story of your love for your kids, it reminded me that God wants to bless us through our relationships. It is great to see wonderful families that love one another. But what you said also inspired me to share this with you. I am currently single, but know I will have a family someday. Now what I am about to tell you might sound crazy to some, but I have always been an out- of-the-box faith filled person. I have been praying for my kids already. Even though they are not here yet, I have been praying that God will use me to be a great father and bless my kids to grow up in the nurture and admonition of the Lord. It’s all about leaving a legacy. Thank you for your touching story and God bless you and your wonderful family.

  4. Hi Pastor Penny,
    I am the guy whom you met from at fhc at the 8:30 with the brown suit on… and from the Richmond, VA area this morning. Thank you so much for your beautiful story! When you told your story of your love for your kids, it reminded me that God wants to bless us through our relationships. It is great to see wonderful families that love one another. But what you said also inspired me to share this with you. I am currently single, but know I will have a family someday. Now what I am about to tell you might sound crazy to some, but I have always been an out- of-the-box faith filled person. I have been praying for my kids already. Even though they are not here yet, I have been praying that God will use me to be a great father and bless my kids to grow up in the nurture and admonition of the Lord. It’s all about leaving a legacy. Thank you for your touching story and God bless you and your wonderful family.

  5. Your house sounds like FUN! I try to create precious moments too. We went to Nakato tonight to celebrate all 3s on a report card! They dig the onion volcano…Conor asked the chef if he was going to do the “tornado”. That was funny.
    I remember backyard tent birthday parties and roller skate parties. I had white skates with purple pompoms. Now, it’s resorts and limos! How times have changed…Am I sounding old? HAHA!

Leave a Reply

 
