Holy Cow That Is Good!

Troy and I are a part of EQUIP. It is an organization to train leaders throughout the world, millions of leaders have already been trained by other leaders. It is amazing! So some of us who are a part of EQUIP have gathered together to be sharpened as we sharpen others. So, we feel very privileged to get to spend a few days with people in the faith whom we admire greatly. I would consider one man in particular the leadership expert, bar none. I got to meet his wife and no wonder he is so great, she is off the hook! We also got to hear some relational experts share their hearts too. These people have written some amazing books and I love reading their stuff too. They made a comment tonight that I quickly wrote down so I could share it with you. They said, “if you are not whole in your own right then all of your relationships will be an attempt to try to complete yourself.” Holy cow that is good! I just loved it!

I guess you can tell from the message that I preached on Sunday how passionate I am about relationships! I love them! Wish I had that quote this past Sunday!  If you weren’t there on Sunday and you don’t know what I am talking about you can get the CD or just go to our church website and listen online!      Freedom House Church

So what have you learned about relationships?????

~ by pennymaxwell on April 4, 2008.

6 Responses to “Holy Cow That Is Good!”

  1. You know the more I read your blog-posts the more I love them. It has often been said that behind every great man there is an even greater woman – I guess in this case that quote was proven correct. Sometimes the good of the one has to outweigh the good of the many – because – until you are good with the one – how can you help the many. I think there is nothing more important to becoming successful than surrounding yourself with people who can help you in your cause – but that YOU can help in theirs as well. Emerson was correct in his essays on compensation – another great read – no matter how many times I/we/you read it.

    Benny
    http://www.ya-ttitude.com

  2. I listened to your message online… great Word! You targeted a topic that is so necessary in society today! I love how you used the two gardens!

  3. So I guess that whole “You complete me” line from Jerry McGuire is what you are talking about here! Only Christ completes us and He’s still working on me! When there is more of a desire to SHOW love, than to BE loved, is when you know God is at work! Reminds me of Philippians 1:6 – For I am sure of this very thing, that the one who began a good work in you will perfect it until the day of Christ Jesus.

  4. The message last Sunday rocked my world. I was bawling before you even got up there because the Holy Spirit was definitely at work in my heart on that subject the moment I walked in. I have learnt so much about relationships and being a single women I have also had a lot of time to better myself, get rid of baggage and declare who I am in Christ so that my relationships with my friends and my future husband will be so much more solid! So many older and wiser men and women of the church have blessed me by being there for me showing me how to develop a better trust in people. These people really care about me and are there for me! I LOVE FHC!

  5. Loved the message Pastor Penny. Relationships are important to me as well. I agree that its impossible to have authentic relationships with others if our own relationship with God is out of whack. Preach on Girl!

  6. Funny Shannon because the men remember the line “show me the money” and the women remember the lines “you complete me” or “you had me at hello”. So funny to me how that is! Yep, you are right, only God can!!

    Rick, Britt and Tara, you guys are too kind. Thanks for the encouragement! You too Benny!

Leave a Reply

 
