Please Pray For Our Family Today

 

Today our dog, Giorgie, died. He was almost 105 years old and we are going to miss him. We have had him for 15 years and the kids have not known life without him. They are absolutely devastated at the loss of our family member.

 

Giorgie stopped eating and drinking and he began to yelp with pain. We knew it was time. It was so hard to take him in to the vet knowing we would not see him again. Colby stayed with him while they euthanized him. Colby said Giorgie has always been there for him and was there when he came home from the hospital (Giorgie was right there to lick him when we walked in with Colby for the first time) and he was going to be there for Giorgie when he breathed his last breath. He was. We all cried buckets of tears and we are still crying. It is just as hard as I thought it would be. I could not stay in the room. It was just too painful.

 

So because today has been such a rough day the kids stayed home from school and we are watching old movies of the kids and our beloved Giorgie.  In every movie Giorgie is right there. I am so glad we have such great memories to watch. I think it is helping us to grieve in a healthy way as a family.

 

Pray for us as we go through this process.  

~ by pennymaxwell on March 31, 2008.

12 Responses to “Please Pray For Our Family Today”

  1. Penny, I am so very sorry about Giorgie. A dog is so wonderful to have and so difficult to lose. Today I prayed for your family, that the Lord of all sorrow would comfort you in ihe deepest part of your soul and heal each of your hearts.

  2. I am so sorry for you loss. We have our little puppy almost two years now – and she has become such an integral part of our lives, I could not imagine her not being around. It is amazing how much animals cheer up even our worse days and how much we cheer up our pet’s days. Those movies will be cherished more and more each time you watch them. I see how excited and sad at the same time my kids get when they watch a video of Easter or Christmas and they see the older (passed on) hamsters we had – so I cannot imagine the pain you and your family is living through. I am truly and deeply sorry for you loss and you are and will be part of my prayers today.

    Benny
    yattitude.wordpress.com

  3. We are praying for you. Jared, my oldest, met Colby on Easter Sunday and he wanted to write a note to him. We’ll mail it to the office. Many prayers…

  4. We are sooo sorry! We have had our one and only dog (in our 18 years of marraige) for only 4 months, and cannot even remember what life was like without her. We keep thinking that the newness is gonna wear off but, we’re constantly telling each other to come look at what she’s doing or how she’s laying or whatever. I’ve told many that I can’t imagine any other dog ever being able to fill her place because she’s so perfect. So, we’ve never been through a loss to say we know how it feels, but we can surely imagine.
    Our thoughts and prayers are with you all. And again, I can’t say how sorry we are.

  5. Thank you for your comments. I am going to let the children read them as a part of their healing process. I want them to know that people care when you go through something. It is now the evening and we are still having a hard time with what happened earlier today. My son said he misses his little feet making noise on the hard wood floors. I do too! 15 years is a long time! He is greatly missed!

  6. So sorry to hear of your loss! We have had Bailey for over four years and I can’t imagine her not being here. I’m so proud of Colby for sticking with her to the end. That is love in action! You are all in our prayers.

  7. May the Wonderful Holy Spirit comfort all of you, especially, the kids. Let them know that Giorgie is enjoying the delicious doggie bones, food, pet toys, etc. in Heaven. He has no more pain and is waiting for all of you.

  8. Hey guys – I am so sorry, I know you guys will miss him so much, I will pray for the you, Troy and the kids.

  9. How are the kids today?

  10. I am so very sorry for you and your family. A pet is not just an animal that lives in your house but another memeber of the family and to loose is truly devestating. I have lost 4 legged memebers of my family so I understand how difficult it is to get through. I will keep you and your family in my prayers. God bless you all for everything you do. Joe and I love you all very much.

  11. Penny…just stopped by to read your blog. I am so sorry for Georgie leaving your family. I know how much she meant to you and my prayers are with you…Much lovd, Lisa Madison, Landon and Justice blow kisses your way.

  12. Wondering how everyone is doing? We still think of you concerning Giorgie almost daily. Would love an update!!

Leave a Reply

 
