The Shrinking Pastor and Staff (Day 2)

This blog is continued from yesterday from our guest blogger, Makeda.  

 

The other component to my success has been my eating habits. Again, I’m not going to go into details about what that looks like but I will say that I am very intentional when I eat.  The single greatest thing that has helped me is writing down everything that goes into my mouth. When I know I have to write it down, I think twice before I eat it. I don’t deprive myself of anything but I do ask myself if I really want it before I eat it.  When I ask myself that question I discover that more times than not, I don’t actually want the chocolate, the slice of cake or the piece of candy.  Those times when I do want it, I eat it but I don’t eat a lot of it because usually a small piece is enough to satisfy my craving. 

Someone asked me recently was there someone I was trying to look like when this was all said and done. My answer was yes, me!  Part of this process has been about discovering the person that was hiding behind all that extra weight.  As I am losing this weight I am discovering things about myself I never knew and I am loving what I am learning.  At the end of last summer I made a decision, to lose weight and get healthy, and every day since then I manage that decision. I make the choices that are going to help me reach those goals. I have days I don’t always make good choices but those days are becoming fewer and more far between because I’m trying to accomplish something here and in the end I’m the only one who gets decide if I reach my goals or not.     

Tell me about where you are in your journey!

  

~ by pennymaxwell on March 27, 2008.

2 Responses to “The Shrinking Pastor and Staff (Day 2)”

  1. If we can keep in the forefront of our minds that “our bodies are the temple of the Holy Spirit” and what are we putting into our temples?…maybe we would make different choices too!! Originally, when God created us, what was available to eat? Surely not donuts and icecream!!!! (even though they do taste heavenly!!!)
    There was a lady I knew that watered down her children’s juices, put wheat germ in their foods, gave them very odd meal choices and never gave them candy or “goodies”. I thought she was awful!
    But, now that my kids are older and I see things as she did, she did her kids a wonderful favor!! I thought I showed my kids love by giving them “treats” and goodies. She knew she was doing the right thing by keeping that desire from them and feeding them properly. They didn’t have to struggle with fighting off those cravings. Their bodies were satisfied. Same with discipline, we think we love our kids too much to punish them, it hurts, but, in the end we all know that it’s to their benefit (and ours too!! not just in our answering to God but in our peace of mind!!) try consistency with disciplining your kids for a month and just see how much more peaceful your home is!!!
    Back to eating….having it to do all over…I would definitely think twice before feeding my kids and developing their taste for food. Really…do we live to eat or do we eat to live?
    Eating properly can be expensive and even at that, the way things are done now days aren’t all that great, but we need to do our part and then God can do His!!!
    Keep up the great work Makeda!! I’m new to the church so I’ll have to ask someone to point you out to me…do you have “before” picturers?!?!?!

  2. Well, forget trying to ‘be like Mike’. I want to be like Makeda. Love you girl, you look awesome and your story is inspiring!!

Leave a Reply

 
