The Shrinking Pastor and Staff

Hey everyone! We have a guest blogger today and her name is Makeda. She is part of the staff here at Freedom House and she has some awesome things to say! Check it out!

How much weight have you lost? And what are you doing?  A lot of people have been asking me these questions so I thought I would visit Pastor Penny’s blog to answer them and maybe encourage someone else to take this journey too.  It’s a bit lengthy but here goes:

 

At the end of last summer I was the heaviest I had ever been in my life and I felt terrible.  I was tired all the time, I had no energy and I didn’t like the person looking back at me in the mirror. I’m sure many ladies can relate to these feelings. I had experienced these same emotions for most of my adult life because I’ve struggled with my weight; it feels like, my whole life.  Well in September I decided to do something about it.  I decided I wanted to lose weight and I made a commitment to do what I needed to do in order to lose the weight.  I didn’t gain the weight overnight and I knew I wasn’t going to lose it overnight. Since then I have lost 55 pounds and together, something like 14 or 15 inches off my hips and waist. 

 So what am I doing? Well I hate to burst everyone’s bubble but I’m not on a diet, I didn’t have any surgeries, I’m not taken any diet pills, in short I’m not doing any of the shortcuts advertised everywhere. I am doing it the old fashioned way – I am exercising regularly and I am being extremely intentional about my eating. I am now doing a combination of cardio and strength training but when I started out my goal was just to get moving. I went to the gym and I didn’t care what I did when I got there I just had to get there. Once that became a habit I started making other changes. I won’t go into details here because I think if this is something that you want, doing what I did may not work for you; you have to discover what will work for your lifestyle. I am single with no kids so I have a lot more flexibility than someone who is married with kids. But if I can offer any encouragement it would be to just start moving; just walking around your neighborhood is a place to start.  What I found out along the way is that I could come up with a lot of excuses for not exercising but making excuses didn’t get me what I wanted; in fact it got me the complete opposite of what I wanted. So if I want what I’ve never had, then I had to do what I’ve never done. When I started doing that I started having some new and different results. 

Tomorrow I will post part two of Makeda’s story. Stay tuned!

~ by pennymaxwell on March 26, 2008.

3 Responses to “The Shrinking Pastor and Staff”

  1. You are such an inspiration Makeda. I am so proud of you. Keep up the hard work.

  2. God knows every desire of our heart and He will give you MORE than you could ever ask or think! YOU GO, GIRL!

  3. I am glad to see you going for it. I gives me a renewed sense of perserverence. When my life goes crazy, the first thing I throw out is exercise and sleep. I am happy to know that you are doing it the old fashion way. I am looking to be a little more diligent. You give me hope

Leave a Reply

 
