Where Are You At, Really?

If I gave you a map could you tell me how it is you will be getting to the place you want to go? Seems like an easy question but really it’s not. Many people in the “map of life” have somewhere they want to go but the problem is that a map will never help you get to where you are going unless you know one key thing; where you are at. If you had a red arrow that read, “I am here” you could begin to navigate where you need to go and what course you need to get there. Problem is a lot of us don’t know where the red arrow is. We have no idea where we really are in life. We may think we are successful but spend little time with our children. We may think our career is booming but cannot get along with our co-workers. We may think we are great leaders but those whom we lead do not feel empowered. We may think our home life is great but rarely have deep, meaningful communication with our spouse. We may think our life is on track but there will always be an indicator if something is off or amiss. If and only if we are willing to pay attention, we can resolve the problem. What is the key detail? Many times when we don’t know where we are it is because we don’t listen to those around us who would happily let us know where we “really are”.  It is so hard to see ourselves sometimes and we need others to help us. The bible is clear to say that a man’s ways are right in his own eyes and I know it is true. Now I am not suggesting that you let just any ole person speak into you but those around us who are close to us should be able to and we should listen and value what they say. My husband speaks into me all of the time and if he tells me something I don’t say things like “no I am not!” I used to say that all of the time like he was on an opposite team or something. Now I say, “Wow, I must be” because he loves me and his motives are only to help me see where I am at so I can go to the places God has for me. I can only go there if I am willing to recognize where I am at.   So ask yourself today, where are you at, really?

~ by pennymaxwell on February 14, 2008.

2 Responses to “Where Are You At, Really?”

  1. I found your site on google blog search and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. Just added your RSS feed to my feed reader. Look forward to reading more from you.

    – Randy Nichols.

  2. good question! Where are you at, really? So many times we think were are doing great but then the road of life gets a little rough and the pressure comes. When that happens are we a pressure cooker ready to erupt? I once heard that the beauty of a diamond comes from the intense heat and pressure that it is under in the environment that it is placed in. Are we becoming beautiful like a diamond in that intense heat and pressure of the circumstances that we face? None of us are perfect! We are all diamonds in the rough, needing a little chilseling and polishing and as we allow the rough edges to be chipped away we emerge as the beautiful creation that God has called us to be. Will we ever get there? Thank God that he has promised to never leave us nor forsake us and that he will continue to work on us until the day of Christ Jesus. Recieve God’s Forgiveness for yourself and enjoy where you are on the way to where you are going and who you are on the road to becoming who you are meant to be. Thanks Troy and Penny for helping us to become who we are meant to be.

Leave a Reply

 
