I Am In Total Shock!!!!!!!!!

Yes! You guessed it; I am pregnant!

No way! Now come on. Did you really think that was it?? Not even! How come whenever I have to tell my friends something unbelievable they always think I am with child? Ok that is not it!!! Just wanted to mess with you a bit!! So no more of that, ok?!

All right, some of you need to stop reading right here. Those of you
who have grown up with the image of pastors as untouchable,
unreachable and the model of perfection, I am about to burst that bubble and my humanity is going to show through. So if you need to think of your pastor (or his wife) as immortal, you might need to back out of my web page and read another blog. I am about to be very, very open with you. It is the only way I know how to be. It is who this pastor (and pastor’s wife) is.

Ok so the real news (which is coming in a minute) is that those of you who know me well know that I have been dealing with a hormone issue for some time although I only knew about it the last several years. It has many different side effects but the one that is the most frustrating to me is the weight gain aspect. PCOS as it is called, has been something I have been seeing a doctor for. The docs have been great to give me 2 different kinds of medicine to try to control it but both have side effects that made it so I could not take either one. One med made my stomach very upset (although the weight loss started immediately-15 lbs in one week!!) and the other made me want to strangle everyone. Not so good when you are a pastor! Ha!

Now before I go any further, I want you to know that I believe in God’s healing power. Always have and always will. I have seen miracles in my family like you would not believe but I also believe God can use doctors as well. I have seen those kinds of miracles too.

So here goes, I am about to become the “Shrinking Pastor”!!! I will be having surgery in January that will help me get the weight off!! I am really excited about it! I will no longer have to deal with the weight issues again. The doc is actually going to remove 85% of some hormone from my body that affects weight gain. I am not sure which hormone it is but I am glad to be having it done. It is done laproscopically and is a new procedure. Quite frankly I was a little hesitant at first to tell everyone not because I care that people know, I mean it will be pretty obvious. I was hesitant because I did not want anyone to go and consider surgery because I was. I know that my position is visible and I always want to use it appropriately. So, if you are reading this and you have weight issues; please see your doctor (not me) about what you should do. Troy and I always say to people when they have a hurdle in front of them (whether it is spirit, soul or body) to treat it three ways. We are three part beings and when something is wrong with us all three parts of us feel it. So this is not just something I am dealing with in the body realm but also the other two as well. I have some great people around me helping me through it all. Special thanks to my hubby, he is truly the man of my dreams!

I am in shock!! Does this mean I might be able to wear those cute jeans I have always wanted? Wahoo!!!

~ by pennymaxwell on December 28, 2007.

12 Responses to “I Am In Total Shock!!!!!!!!!”

  1. Good for you! Be sure to keep us blog readers updated. 🙂

  2. How awesome! I hope it opens up new areas of freedom that you never even expected! My prayer is that with this release from extra weight, you will gain extra capacity for new and exciting things!
    I can’t wait to see the “new you” appear before our eyes!

    Love you!
    Melody Hogan

    PS. check out my blog at: http://www.blog.melodyhogan.com

  3. Um … you know you scared the mess out of me, right?! Don’t joke like that with the pregnancy thing! 🙂 But seriously, I’m excited for you!

  4. I know! I know! I just got tired of my friends always asking if I was preggers when I told them I had something cool to tell them. They always gasp with their mouth open and act like they are getting ready to jump up and down or something. Why is it that is the only great thing a woman of child-bearing age can have happen that is cool? I will mess with them when reading this, hopefully!!!

  5. Interesting…..my Doctor is checking me for the same condition. If I have it, then it’ll most likely be the reason for my last 2 miscarriages. Keep us posted.

  6. Lisette, they told me that the fact I had 3 children without any help was a sheer miracle. It took us a while to get pregnant but that was way before they actually knew what was up. They did not find out what it was until I moved here to Charlotte. There are several things they can do to help you out that have not been available to me simply because I am not trying to get pregnant; you know fertility things. Let me know how things go and if you want to talk! I will keep you up on my progress too. Also know I am praying for you. We love you guys!

  7. That is some good stuff right there! I think you’re a hottie anyways but I’m glad that you get to do this b/c I know how much you love cute jeans! Love you.

  8. Pastor Penny, Congrats, I hope it’s everything and more than you are expecting it to be! 🙂 I wish I had an excuse for my weight gain! 🙂

  9. Pastor Penny – Thanks for your honesty and being real.
    I know without a doubt that God will take care of you.
    You and PT have always had Spiritual Favor.
    Vindra and I will continue to pray for you.
    Besides whatever the outcome, you’re beautiful outside AND inside!! (shhhh…don’t tell anyone I said that…lol)

  10. Yay Penny! First of all, I’m excited to leave a comment, I finally made it over to your blog 🙂 Secondly, you already look like a model, so now you’ll be the hottest mama at FHC! And third, what are these cute jeans y’all are talking about. Where can i get a pair and can they deliver to my house, I don’t have time to shop…

  11. Hi Pastor Penny, I will keep you in my prayers and stand in the gap for you as you undergo surgery. Happy New Year.

    Sabra

  12. Yeah!! So exciting! I am thankful for the wisdom that God has given doctors. Whether by His hands or through a doctors, a miracle is a miracle! God gets the glory for it all 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
