Potato Casserole

Ok, so now that it is officially Christmastime in my book (it is after Turkey Day), I can start unloading all of my favorite Christmas recipes on you! So here is my first one. This potato casserole will rock your world (and your waistline so ration it off)!

1 16 oz bag of frozen hashbrowns

1 8oz container of sour cream

2 C shredded cheddar cheese

2 sticks of butter

1/2 C onion, chopped fine

1 can of cream of chicken soup

crushed corn flakes (they actually come crushed already in a white box)

Place pots in a casserole dish and pour one stick of melted butter over them. Combine sc, cheese, onion, and soup and pour over pots. Then take about 2/3 C of crushed corn flakes and mix with the other stick of butter (melted). Pour on top of pot mixture. Bake at 325 for 1 hr. covered, then about 15 minutes uncovered. Corn flakes should be golden brown.

Enjoy!!! And hey if you make this give me a shout back on the blog!

~ by pennymaxwell on November 24, 2007.

10 Responses to “Potato Casserole”

  1. What are you trying to do to those of us who are watching our calories?! Two sticks of butter?!!

    (I think I might have to make this one.)

  2. Portion control??? 🙂

  3. I never have much portion control when I eat this!

  4. oh, I remember you brought this to an LDG. It’s so yummy. I remember asking you what was in it and as you told me I thought, “I couldn’t possibly make that for my family of 3 tablefood eaters (Aslan not included).” So I purposely forgot all about it, never to tempt myself again. SO THANKS A LOT! Now it’s on forever here! 🙂 It really is good. Great to make for a pot luck…to share with many people!

    jacq

  5. Sounds way too good. Thanks! Any chance you’d also be willing to post that Corn Chowder recipe you made for us when Caleb was born? Yes it’s been two years and I still remember it!

  6. Nikki, you are the second person to ask me that so I will have to post it. Shrimp Corn Chowder recipe coming up!! Keep watching and it will appear. This is great to make for Christmas. John and Jac have eaten it too. I subsitute chicken or other fish for the shrimp too.

  7. hey, guess what was on the menu for dinner tonight? yep, I cooked, they came, they ate…and they liked it!

  8. 2 sticks of butter!!!!! are you sure this is not a Paula Dean recipe???!!! haha can not wait to try it out !!! Yumo!!!

  9. Weight watchers could tell I fell off the wagon this week….but it was totally worth it!

  10. Oh my gosh this sounds sooo good I think that I will have to make this for my family…. might have to double it to make enough for all 9 of us though…

Leave a Reply

 
