The Junk Drawer

Today, I was in my daughter’s room searching for a hair bow and when I couldn’t find one, I looked in the drawer she uses to keep her “things.” I had to yank the drawer open because she had so much junk in there from when she was “cleaning” her room. There were books, belts, socks, sunglasses, scissors, markers, candy, play dough, a slinky, a purse….need I say more? No wonder I could not get the darn drawer open! I explained to her that she needed to clean it out and stop junking up her drawers. As I walked down the steps and into the kitchen to fix dinner I was still perplexed as to why she would do that. Moments later I opened my kitchen drawer to pull out a measuring cup. Uh-oh!! The mystery was solved!
 
So what is the moral of the story? Bad attitude? Dishonesty? Disrespect? Junk drawers? If you see something in your kid you think needs to change, why not first see if it needs to change in you.

~ by pennymaxwell on November 19, 2007.

One Response to “The Junk Drawer”

  1. good stuff

Leave a Reply

 
