Search out the “real” deal!

The first time I tasted guacamole I absolutely hated it. Green. Slimy. Yuck! All I could think of was green, watered-down Play Dough. I forced myself to taste it, and it was even worse than the pureed peas I used to feed my munchkins when they were little. Let me tell you, honestly, after tasting that guacamole, I’d rather have a jar of those peas! Then one day I found myself facing a bowl of guacamole, again. We had flown to Dallas to visit some friends and they took us to a great Mexican restaurant where they ordered, what else, tableside guacamole. Even though they raved about the guacamole, I decided to forgo the green goop. When the waiter placed the guacamole on the table I noticed that even though it was still green and pasty, it did look a little different. At the urging of my friends I decided I’d try just a smidgen on my chip—just to humor them. SHOCKER! The stuff was so darn good I couldn’t get enough chips. I didn’t even leave enough room for my dinner.  

“How could this be the same stuff?” I wondered. My first experience with packaged, processed guacamole caused me to judge all guacamole. That just wasn’t the “real” stuff, and to think what I’d been missing all that time! I think many people have had a similar experience with church. Maybe you tried “church” and hated it. Just like over-processed guacamole left a bad taste in my mouth, did church leave a bad taste in yours? Did you find church to be out of touch and irrelevant? Maybe you even felt mistreated, ignored or misunderstood. Maybe the pastor turned you off. Yuck! I don’t blame you for not wanting to try it ever again. When I finally tasted the “real” guacamole, I couldn’t get enough of it. When you have the real deal, you know it. Just today I made homemade guacamole because it is now one of my favorite foods. I’ve shared my guacamole with friends and many of them have become guacamole lovers too! If you tried church and didn’t like it, I encourage you to try it again. It’s worth the search to find the “real” deal. You will be glad you did. You might even say, “Pass the chips.” 

If you’ve never had really good guacamole, try out my recipe and let me know what you think:

2 ripe avocados (they will be soft)

2 TBSP red onion, chopped

1 TBSP chopped cilantro

1 large wedge of lime

5 cherry tomatoes chopped and seeded

Chopped jalapeño (you decide how much you like. Remember the heat is in the seeds and the veins)

Sea Salt

Warmed tortilla chips (warm them at 200 degrees in the oven while you make the dip) 

Smash the avocados in a bowl with a fork. I like it smooth, but you might like it chunky. Then, add in your ingredients and mix. The lime wedge can be squeezed in at the end and you can rub the lime around the bowl to get little bits of lime in your guacamole bites.

Enjoy! 

~ by pennymaxwell on November 16, 2007.

5 Responses to “Search out the “real” deal!”

  1. I’m salivating in front of my computer right now! Could I come over to your place and get some homemade stuff. You can invite me over anytime, I won’t hold it against you. Good parable.

  2. Looks good- I would also add a little garlic.
    It is great to have found a ‘real’ church.

  3. Rich, Lisette wont like it if you eat the garlic! I was thinking of her!
    John John, you and Jacq can come over any time for some guac!! It is yummy!

  4. I love guacamole especially that recipe.

  5. You do make the best guacamole!!!!!

Leave a Reply

 
